About Haggis Rugby

Park City Haggis Rugby

National Championships: 2005 (D2)
National Semi-Finals: 2005 (D2)
National Quarter-Finals: 2004 (D2), 2005 (D2), 2006 (D1)
National Round of 16: 2004 (D2), 2005 (D2), 2006 (D1), 2006 (7s), 2008 (D1), 2014 (D2)


Haggis RFC, est. 1972, is Utah's oldest and most respected home for senior level rugby players in the state. The Haggis is committed to providing quality rugby training and competition at every skill and experience level and we seek to build the Wasatch Front into a rugby stronghold and promote the game both within and beyond the rugby community.

We are the 2005 USA Division II National Champions, and have produced a number of national team members through our program. A forthcoming surge of quality players through Utah's high school and collegiate ranks portends exciting and unprecedented success in the near future!

Coaching Staff

Blake Burdette: Blake was the Head Coach at the University of Utah for 6 years, and he has coached numerous successful teams at the high school level. Blake received 9 caps with the USA Eagles in the front row, and was a member of the 2007 Rugby World Cup side.

John Cullen: John has 4 caps with the USA Eagles and has played with the Seattle Saracens and Army 7s.

Want to play for Haggis?

If you are a man that is dedicated to upholding the highest standards of sportsmanship on and off the pitch, and if you are committed to challenging yourself to achieve greatness, we want you on our side.

Introduce yourself to us via email. You can also connect with us on Facebook or Instagram.

Where do we practice?

We practice late February through November, as the weather allows, at Sugarhouse Park in Salt Lake City. Our practice field is near the rear of the park, directly adjacent to Highland High School's football stadium.

Winter practices are held indoors, with location and times TBA.

USA Eagles

  • Blake Burdette (2006-2012): 9 caps
  • Jason Pye (2005): 2 caps
  • Matekitonga Moeakiola (2007-): 26 caps
  • Mike Palefau (2005-): 33 caps (including 7s competitions)
  • John Cullen (2013-)
  • Don Pati (sevens)
  • Mike Morgan (sevens)